| We hope you enjoy your visit. You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use. If you join our community, you'll be able to access member-only sections, and use many member-only features such as customizing your profile, sending personal messages, and voting in polls. Registration will allow you to join in the discussion which is amazingly free of personal rancor and trolls! We are currently looking for posters from both the left and the right who have a demonstrated capacity to discuss fervently without letting personalities get in the way. Is that you? We need more staff. Join our community! If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features: |
| Hey .164! | |
|---|---|
| Topic Started: Dec 23 2009, 01:03 PM (230 Views) | |
| Post #1 Dec 23 2009, 01:03 PM |
|
|
Hey .164! I hope I am not scaring you away, but sign up and post! I'd love to hear what you are thinking. |
![]()
Administrator
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
![]() |
| Post #2 Dec 25 2009, 04:44 PM |
|
|
Well, .164 will not be replying. I just figured out who he is. It was something of a mystery. But, with my son's help, we solved it. Initially, I thought it was a person who was curious about the site, maybe someone from WLDL who followed my links. So, I encouraged him to join. Then, I noticed that he was always lurking here. Every one to 20 minutes, he would check another thread--in no particular order. He was here at midnight. He was here at 6 am on Christmas Day. He never joined. He never replied. He never inquired. He was just there. Always. It was getting spooky. Was he a stalker? Did he work for Interpol? Was he the global warming thought police? Did moovealong.org take notice of my little site? (I'd be thrilled if I ran afoul of their sensibilities.) Was there going to be some consequence if the material here were found to be outside the approved orthodoxy? Well, this called for an investigation. We immediately ruled out a crawler. When I site gets crawled, it usually gets botted with dozens of "users," all with different IP addresses. In fact, the "most users online" stat for most sites represents a time they got crawled by bots. And, crawling tends to happen in under an hour. .164 has been here for a few weeks. We did a whois on the IP address. We traced the IP and found it to be in California. We googled the name identified in the whois. We googled some of the information gleaned from previous googles. We ultimately discovered that the IP belongs to cuil.com--a search engine. It's not a search engine I'd ever heard of. They claim to do it better than anyone else. (We'll have to see about that one.) Instead of doing a quick scoop of a site, getting everything in general and nothing in particular, cuil.com does in-depth, long-term searches, like the one we are experiencing. That sounds promising. Searches today do not provide quick and quality answers that they used to. Maybe cuil.com has found the fix. I know that I'll be doing a lot of searches with them to find out if I can get results that are not so cluttered with bravo sierra. Anyway, the mystery of .164 has been solved. He is not human, so I think I'll stop trying to talk to him. *sigh* |
![]()
Administrator
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
![]() |
| 1 user reading this topic (1 Guest and 0 Anonymous) | |
| « Previous Topic · Games and Other Fun Stuff · Next Topic » |






![]](http://z2.ifrm.com/static/1/pip_r.png)



3:48 PM May 20